Frequent question: Is newcastle north or south of sydney?


New South Wales’ second-largest city, Newcastle is a thriving metropolis with cool cafés and beautiful beaches. Australia’s second oldest city, ‘Newie’ as it is affectionately known, is just a two-hour drive north from Sydney in the eastern state of New South Wales.

Subsequently, is Newcastle North or South NSW? Situated on the east coast of NSW, Newcastle is surrounded by golden sand beaches, a breathtaking coastline and a beautiful working harbour.

You asked, where is Newcastle in relation to Sydney? Newcastle, city and port, eastern New South Wales, Australia. It lies at the mouth of the Hunter River, approximately 105 miles (170 km) northeast of Sydney.

People ask also, which region is Newcastle in? Newcastle upon Tyne, city and metropolitan borough, metropolitan county of Tyne and Wear, historic county of Northumberland, northeastern England. It lies on the north bank of the River Tyne 8 miles (13 km) from the North Sea.

Furthermore, is Newcastle considered part of the Central Coast? Region overview The Central Coast is located at the centre of NSW’s fastest growing corridor, Sydney to Newcastle. Known for its pristine beaches, numerous waterways, national parks, lush hinterland and rich cultural heritage, the Central Coast is an attractive place to live, work and play.Regional NSW has thriving agricultural, energy and resources industries and strong manufacturing, tourism and service sectors. Here ‘regional NSW’ refers to all of the state except the metropolitan areas of Greater Sydney, Newcastle and Wollongong.

What do locals call Newcastle?

The answer to the question may seem obvious: we call our town the Toon because that’s how Geordies pronounce the word. We were keen to find out how long the people of Newcastle have been referring to their homeland as the Toon, and where the pronunciation comes from.

Is Newcastle regional or metro?

While Newcastle and the Hunter Valley are often grouped together, the Hunter Valley is classed as regional while the metropolitan city of Newcastle, including the LGAs of Newcastle and Lake Macquarie, is categorised separately.

Is Newcastle considered regional?

Regional areas include Perth, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast, Lake Macquarie, Illawarra, Geelong, Newcastle, Wollongong, Adelaide, Hobart and Canberra.

What is classified as Sydney?

The Greater Sydney region comprises 36 local government areas. It includes the major centres of Sydney, Richmond, Katoomba, Camden and the central coast. The region covers a total area of around 12,300 square kilometres or 2 per cent of New South Wales and is home to approximately 5.1 million people (ABS 2018a).

Where is the Southern Highlands in Australia?

The Southern Highlands, also locally referred to as the Highlands, is a geographical region and district in New South Wales, Australia and is 110 km south-west of Sydney. The entire region is under the local government area of the Wingecarribee Shire. The region is also considered a wine region.

Is Newcastle in North Yorkshire?

There are four counties in the region: County Durham; Tyne and Wear; Northumberland and part of North Yorkshire. The largest settlements are Newcastle upon Tyne, Middlesbrough, Sunderland, Gateshead and Darlington.

Is Newcastle same as Newcastle upon Tyne?

Newcastle upon Tyne – or simply ‘Newcastle’ as it is most commonly referred to – is one of the most iconic cities in Britain, famous for its industrial heritage, eponymous brown ale, popular nightlife and distinct regional ‘Geordie’ dialect.

What is the greater Newcastle area?

This region (officially the Newcastle statistical subdivision) comprises the local government areas (LGAs) of City of Newcastle, City of Lake Macquarie, City of Cessnock, City of Maitland and Port Stephens Council. Newcastle Greater Metropolitan area has a population of approximately 570,000.

What suburbs are included in the Central Coast?

  1. BATEAU BAY. Bateau Bay is about 6 km south of the town of The Entrance and 17 km northeast of Gosford’s central business district.

What areas are included in the Central Coast?

The main urban cluster of the region surrounds the northern shore of Brisbane Water and includes the Coast’s largest population centre, Gosford, stretching east to the retail centre of Erina. Other major commercial “centres” on the Coast are Wyong, Tuggerah, Lakehaven, The Entrance, Terrigal, and Woy Woy.

Is Newcastle considered rural?

Just over a quarter of the people in NSW live outside the three major cities of Sydney, Newcastle and Wollongong. Rural NSW is characterised by its diversity. It is made up of major regional centres and coastal cities, small towns and remote communities.

Can I travel from Sydney to Newcastle?

You can travel anywhere in NSW and there are no restrictions on travel between Greater Sydney and regional NSW.

Which areas are regional NSW?

  1. Central West and Orana. Includes Bathurst, Coonabarabran, Coonamble, Cowra, Dubbo, Gilgandra, Lithgow, Mudgee and Orange.
  2. Far West.
  3. New England North West.
  4. Newcastle and Hunter.
  5. North Coast.
  6. Riverina Murray.
  7. South East and Tablelands.
  8. Sydney and surrounds.

Back to top button